Reliability Testing in Software

Reliability Testing is a testing technique and it is use to test the ability of a software in any
environmental conditions that helps to discover the issues in the software design and functionality. It is a type of software testing technique that determines that software can perform an operation for a specific period of time in any environment without any failure. Here we can test the functionality of application continuously for particular period of time and check whether it can withstand the load or not this is how we do reliability testing in software. It ensures that the product is defect free and is reliable for its particular purpose.

Reliability Testing in Software

It is mainly done for standalone and client server application. Doing reliability testing manually is very tough job so we go for automation testing.

Goal of Reliability Testing

The goal of reliability testing is:
1. To find the never-ending structure of repeating defect.
2. To find the number of defects occurring in the particular period of time.
3. To discover the main source of defect.
4. To conduct performance testing of different-different modules of software product after fixing defects.

Types of Reliability Testing

There are three types of reliability testing:

1. Feature Testing:

These steps are involved in this testing:

1. Each and every function should be executed at least once in the software.
2. Interaction between two or more functions should be reduced.
3. Each and every function should be properly executed.

2. Regression Testing:

Regression testing is basically done whenever any new functionality or feature is added, old functionalities or features are removed or the bugs are fixed in an software to make sure with introduction of new functionality or feature and with the fixing of previous bugs, no new bugs are introduced in the software.

3. Load Testing:

Load testing is done to determine whether the application is able to handle the required load without getting breakdown. It is done to check the performance of the software under maximum work load.

The study of reliability testing can be divided into three categories:
1. Modelling
2. Measurement
3. Improvement

Measurement of Reliability Testing

Mean Time To Failure (MTTF):
The time between two consecutive failures is called as mean time to failure (MTTF).

Mean Time To Repair (MTTR):
The time taken to fix the failures is known as mean time to repair (MTTR).

Mean Time Between Failures (MTBF):
Evaluation of reliability testing is done in terms of mean time between failures (MTBF).

Next Post »